A New Theme

I spent forty five minutes today trying to chose a theme for my blog.  I had no idea this is going to be so difficult.  There is a plethora of blogs online, and each has a theme.  All of them look much more professional than mine.  3564_fee51463caa859cIn a way, selection of the blog theme reflects how well one understands oneself and knows what one wants. That’s a lot of ones…  If this is true, then I don’t understand myself at all.  I don’t know whether I prefer Hemingway Press, Kelly, Widely or Adele.  What do I want from the blog theme, after all?  Apparently I want something vague and amorphous, which I can’t describe even to myself.  How everyone else deals with it, is a mystery to me.  I even subscribed for a two week course from Word Press on how to create blogs, and today’s assignment was to create a post and insert a video or image content.  I have to confess, I had no idea what image or video I would like to insert.  For that matter, I had to read another part of the tutorial about how to insert one.  Finally I settled on The Thinker.  Bravo, Captain Obvious!  Mission accomplished, I guess.

Let’s see how long this new theme, romantically titled Adele, will live in my Den.  So far I like it more than the others, bar the dainty round bubbles at the top.  I must figure out how to remove them.  At least I know what I don’t like, which is already a progress, no?

7 thoughts on “A New Theme

  1. Yes, and once you decide you’ll change your mind. I’ve done so three times. Do you have to decide a theme? Can’t you just start writing and see where that takes you? That’s the wonderful thing – you can reinvent by deleting posts, or even all of your content if you’re brave and want to start over from scratch. I look forward to seeing what you.decide.

    Liked by 1 person

    • True! I haven’t written anything but system documentation for a very long time. However, I feel that writing is supposed to be like riding a bike: once you know how to do it, you won’t forget it. I will be rusty for a long time, though. And blogging is the new skill for me altogether…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

